Tag Archives: aliens

Character Interview: Callie Winters from Song Walker


‘Tis the season to be jolly, Fa-la-la-la-laaaa! Introducing Sissy Lu’s first festive Character Interview, featuring CALLIE WINTERS from Song Walker by Ellis Logan. Grab a cup of eggnog or some wassail, but beware the mistletoe!


So, Callie, give us some small deets below!

Full name: Callie Winters
Age: 28
Favorite Season: Summer
Favorite Cookie: White chocolate with apricots
Favorite Hot Beverage: Hot chocolate


Continue reading Character Interview: Callie Winters from Song Walker

Iceling by Sasha Stephenson

29284812

Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult, Science Fiction

Pages: 304

Expected publication: December 13th 2016 by Razorbill

Pre-Order on Amazon

Shelf it on Goodreads

Summary: Sasha Stephenson’s intriguing debut is a combination road trip story and sci-fi adventure about the strange, strong bond between two sisters. Fans of Under the Never Sky and The Darkest Minds will devour ICELING, the first book in a new and utterly original sci-fi series.

Seventeen-year-old Lorna loves her adoptive sister, Callie. But Callie can’t say “I love you” back. In fact, Callie can’t say anything at all.

Because Callie is an Iceling–one of hundreds of teens who were discovered sixteen years ago on a remote Arctic island, all of them lacking the ability to speak or understand any known human language.

Mysterious and panicked events lead to the two sisters embarking on a journey to the north, and now Lorna starts to see that there’s a lot more to Callie’s origin story than she’d been led to believe. Little does she know what’s in store, and that she’s about to uncover the terrifying secret about who–and what–Callie really is.


    crownfullratingcrownfullrating


Continue reading Iceling by Sasha Stephenson

Under different stars by Amy A. Bartol

1 out of 5 stars

Under different stars

“He was telling us that your voice will give comfort when the night becomes its blackest,” he replies. “And I’ll protect that voice with my body, my mind, and my spirit . . . because without it, I’m alone in the dark.”

Ugh. Just, ugh. I wanted to gag this entire book but hey I stuck it out stubbornly with a morbid curiosity if this was going to be as horrible as I thought it was.

Turns out, it was.

I really wanted to read this and have something to dispute with the bad reviews I had read, because hey on Goodreads it does have an over 4 star rating! but… I can’t. Where do I begin to constructively criticize this book?

Let me begin with Kricket. Miss Independent with a chip on her shoulder. I get she’s had a difficult life since she ran through the system and is running from DSS when we first meet her, however, the sarcasm and biting remarks gets old…fast. She has a disgusting personality that is just far too hard and scathing. I get she’s had a tough life and has been on the run, but I feel like Miss Bartol went over the top with some personality traits. Instead of being real and well “human” she constantly resorts to sarcasm.

Then flash forward… when she meets our other main characters,  trey, jax and wayra, somehow they’re all buddy buddy..there is no real connection there that becomes developed, it just happens and you’re left wondering why on earth this snarky little muffin isn’t a little bit more leery!


Enter the feels, they begin to happen and attachments are formed, because Kricket is um..charming and who can not help but fall for the [constantly reminded of this,] platinum blonde Kricket?!

I feel like the characters needed more depth, something deeper than sarcasm, stoicism, and constant bickering..the book had a lot of potential..it just didn’t ever really get there for me.

The over all world was thrown to the side, the background story and history of it all, because Kricket stole the show with her platinum blonde hair and amazingly hot bod.

This book was shallow to me, in every possible way. Shallow story, shallow characters.