January Reads

I’ve decided that at the end of the month each month I’ll post a collage of books that I have read during the month with links to reviews if that is applicable. It’s easy to get lost in the mass array of posts during a month, so here is everything condensed.

Not everything has a review, but you can feel free to ask me about the book in the comments below and I can tell you all about it!

Have you read any of these books? Do you want to? Comment below if you’ve read them or even if you haven’t!

So, here is what I’ve read in the month of January.

 

  1. Untamed by A.G. Howard – ★★★☆☆
  2. Thicker Than Water by Brigid Kemmerer – ★★★☆☆
  3. The Dragon Round by Stephen S. Power – ★★★☆☆
  4. To Desire A Devil by Elizabeth Hoyt – ★★☆☆☆
  5. The Return of the Witch by Paula Brackston – ★★★★☆
  6. Cogling by Jordan Elizabeth – ★★★★☆
  7. Four the Initiate by Veronica Roth -★★★☆☆
  8. Red Shoes by Hans Christian Andersen – ★★★★★
  9. Because of you by RaShelle Workman – ★★★☆☆
  10. Waking Gods by Mike Robinson – ★★★★☆
  11. The Highly Capable by Jayme Beddingfield – ★★★☆☆
  12. Smart Girl by Rachel Hollis – ★★★★★
  13. The Captain’s Bride by Lisa Tawn Bergren – ★★★☆☆
  14. The Eternal Kiss of Darkness by Jeaniene Frost- ★★★★☆

Waking Gods by Mike Robinson

imageGenre: Adult fiction, Mystery, Supernatural

Pages: 263

Published by Curiosity Quills Press

Release date: January 11th, 2016

Amazon

Goodreads


In this ultimate chapter of the non-linear trilogy The Enigma of Twilight Falls we meet Adrian Foster, a young and reclusive Los Angeles man with an extraordinary gift that has informally brought him the nickname “The Human Master Key.”

When a new victim of a vicious serial killer turns up in the woods by Twilight Falls, California, Adrian reunites with eccentric detective Derek Adams in probing the occult lore surrounding the town — the town in which Adrian was born and raised, the town in which he left behind many a ghost, the town whose dark central spirit will force him on a harrowing journey through the rugged bottomlands of another’s psyche … as well as his own.

Waking Gods completes the terrifying and surreal panorama previously established by The Green-Eyed Monster and Negative Space.


 

Continue reading Waking Gods by Mike Robinson

The Dark Days Club by Alison Goodman

15993203
London, April 1812. On the eve of eighteen-year-old Lady Helen Wrexhall’s presentation to the queen, one of her family’s housemaids disappears-and Helen is drawn into the shadows of Regency London. There, she meets Lord Carlston, one of the few who can stop the perpetrators: a cabal of demons infiltrating every level of society. Dare she ask for his help, when his reputation is almost as black as his lingering eyes? And will her intelligence and headstrong curiosity wind up leading them into a death trap?


Genres: Historical Fiction, Regency era, Supernatural, Young adult

Pages: 496

Series: Book 1 in the Lady Helen series

Published: January 26th, 2016 by Viking Books

Goodreads

Amazon


★★★★☆


Wow, what a trip! Fans of Jane Austen’s Pride & Prejudice and Cassandra Clare’s Immortal Instruments need to be on the look out for this book! Goodman executes a brilliant and new idea.

Helen Wrexhall is the daughter of the late Lady Catherine Wrexhall, a name that has been slandered with rumors and, in turn, has brought shame into the family. Since the passing of Lady Catherine, Helen has come into the possession of her Uncle and Aunt. This is during a time where propriety is everything and one misstep can have one falling from the graces of the public eye, so Helen must endure her Aunt’s frivolous behavior and her Uncle’s more than overbearing demeanor.

Enter in a dashing, handsome complication that comes in the form of Lord Carlston, a man who is seen as a social prior due to the mysterious death of his late wife and just so happens to be linked to Helen’s family in a distant manner.

Since this time period was very difficult for a woman to be taken seriously other than someone to produce children and what not, the strength of character is difficult to see when Helen simply agrees and lets others control her life. Let there be no question that she is actually a strong character, she takes everything quite eloquently, even as a new world is opened up to her and difficulties arise. She does so with grace. Even as a difficult choice is laid in her hands and she must truly decide, and take control of her life, Helen does just that. She makes her decision and, in the end, it left me wanting MORE from Goodman!

I have never read a piece from her before and now I’m regretting it, this book was lovely and though it didn’t end with a cliffhanger I am definitely hooked and will be interested in reading the second! Do yourself a favor…BUY IT, READ IT!

Cogling by Jordan Elizabeth

image

Genre: Steampunk, Young Adult, Supernatural

Pages: 285

Published by Curiosity Quills Press

Release date: January 25th, 2016

Amazon

Goodreads


When fifteen-year-old Edna Mather tears an expensive and unfamiliar pocket watch off her little brother’s neck, he crumbles into a pile of cogs right before her eyes. Horrified, Edna flees for help, but encounters Ike, a thief who attempts to steal the watch before he realizes what it is: a device to power Coglings—clockwork changelings left in place of stolen children who have been forced to work in factories.

Desperate to rescue her brother, Edna sets off across the kingdom to the hags’ swamp, with Ike in tow. There, they learn Coglings are also replacing nobility so the hags can stage a rebellion and rule over humanity. Edna and Ike must stop the revolt, but the populace believes hags are helpful godmothers and healers. No one wants to believe a lowly servant and a thief, especially when Ike has secrets that label them both as traitors.

Together, Edna and Ike must make the kingdom trust them or stop the hags themselves, even if Ike is forced to embrace his dark heritage and Edna must surrender her family.


 

Continue reading Cogling by Jordan Elizabeth

Randomness & Thankfulness

 

11924560_10155979024230156_772485505480818936_n
Read Review

I’m so thankful for the followers I have and for those individuals that I have met through my new journey of book reviewing and blogging!

 

I really started this entire ordeal because of my friends and family who were forever in the day asking if I had read this book or that one. What did I think of it if I did? Or, hey, can you read this book and tell me if it’s crud?

So, this really started as something for my friends and family to read, I’m grateful that it’s expanded quite a bit since then!

I thoroughly enjoy reading new books. I cherish every new author I meet and because I aspire to be a writer as well, I know how important those first few reviews are. I know how much it means to have the word of mouth, too. So, I just want to extend my gratitude toward the writers out there that let me review their work for them.

I’ve met some really cool people and amazing authors.

So, honestly, thank you to each and every one of you!

Bring on the books and I’ll bring on the reviews!

-Sissy

Because of you by RaShelle Workman

image

Genre: Contemporary, New Adult, Romance, Suspense, Thriller

Pages: 244

Published by Curiosity Quills Press

Release date: January 18th, 2016

Amazon

Goodreads


 

 

There’s a first time for everything… and sometimes that means a first time at a second chance.

It’s been seven years since Maddie Martin’s parents died. Their killer wasn’t just a random stranger, but her best friends’ father. Kyle Hadley. The boy she’s been in love with since she was old enough to understand the emotion, the boy she promised all of her firsts to. Worst of all, Kyle’s father got away with it, and Maddie hasn’t seen Kyle since.

That changes on her first day of college. Seeing Kyle again brings back all of her childhood feelings of friendship and love for him, but it also brings back the anger, sorrow, and pain she’s been trying to bury because of his father.

***

Kyle Hadley has no idea why Maddie quit talking to him, especially when he needed her most. But he got over it, refusing to waste his life mourning the only girl he ever loved. There are too many women, too much of life to experience to bother thinking about Maddie. Except he does. And when he sees her again, he knows it.

But there are problems beyond Kyle and Maddie and their old feelings. The two of them are in danger and one or both might end up dead.

Continue reading Because of you by RaShelle Workman