You know me well by David Levithan/Nina LaCour

27158835

 

Genre: GLBT, Young Adult, Coming of Age, Contemporary

Pages: 256

Published by St. Martin’s Griffin

Amazon

Goodreads


 

Who knows you well? Your best friend? Your boyfriend or girlfriend? A stranger you meet on a crazy night? No one, really?

Mark and Kate have sat next to each other for an entire year, but have never spoken. For whatever reason, their paths outside of class have never crossed.

That is until Kate spots Mark miles away from home, out in the city for a wild, unexpected night. Kate is lost, having just run away from a chance to finally meet the girl she has been in love with from afar. Mark, meanwhile, is in love with his best friend Ryan, who may or may not feel the same way.

When Kate and Mark meet up, little do they know how important they will become to each other — and how, in a very short time, they will know each other better than any of the people who are supposed to know them more.

Told in alternating points of view by Nina LaCour, the award-winning author of Hold Still and The Disenchantments, and David Levithan, the best-selling author of Every Day and co-author ofNick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist (with Rachel Cohn) and Will Grayson, Will Grayson (with John Green), You Know Me Well is a deeply honest story about navigating the joys and heartaches of first love, one truth at a time.


crownfullratingcrownfullrating


Continue reading You know me well by David Levithan/Nina LaCour

Author Interview: Suzanne Rogerson

I was fortunate enough to have a Q&A session with Suzanne Rogerson, author of Visions of Zarua. A huge thank you for filling out my extensive questionnaire!


  1. What sparked the idea for your debut novel “Visions of Zarua”
    Visions of Zarua started with a single scene that came to me as I scribbled in my notebook. A young woman was hunting in the woods with her two hounds, when her prey disappeared without trace. The whole story evolved from that point.
  2. Were there any key people in your life that inspired any characters in your novel?
    I didn’t have any real life people to inspire the characters in this book, but I did once base an antagonist on a rather smarmy boss.
  3. When you write, what are your essentials?
    All I need to write is a notebook and a nice pen, though I do love my little pink laptop.
  4. What would you tell aspiring writers that are trying to find time to write?
    Aspiring writers need to grab every free moment to help them get immersed in their ideas. Write whenever they can, even while waiting for the kettle to boil. The more the ideas grow, the more time they’ll want to spend with their characters.
  5. Your go-to snack for writing, what is it?
    One of my favourite snacks whilst writing is a cup of tea (when I remember to take the tea bag out) and wheat free ginger biscuits.
  6. If you could only choose one literary figure to meet, who would it be and why?
    I would love to have met David Gemmell. He was my introduction to fantasy. Before I read his books, I drifted between genres never knowing what I wanted to write. David Gemmell was a master at writing characters, and I’ve read few authors than can match his skill. He gives me something to strive towards.
  7. Do you have muse-music? If so who is it?
    I love Ben Howard’s first album Every Kingdom, and his two EP’s Oats on the Water and Burgh Island. The music is so atmospheric and his lyrics are beautiful. I could listen to his tracks on repeat all day, especially when I’m writing an emotional scene.
  8. What are you currently working on?
    I’m currently working through the edit of my next fantasy, which I hope to publish later this year. The working title is Bloodlines – Search for the Sentinel, and it’s book 1 of a planned trilogy.
  9. How would you finish this sentence: Alberta placed a hand over her mouth and her eyes widened as it dawned on her…
    she had seen the man before in a past life.
  10. If you could get away to a destination in one of your favorite books where would it be and why?
    I would visit the magical city of the Elderlings, Kelsingra, in Robin Hobbs Rain Wild Chronicles. It sounds so perfect, and to be surrounded by dragons!
  11. Did you always know you wanted to be a writer?
    I was 100% certain that I wanted to be a writer from about the age of 8. I even dropped out college because they wouldn’t let me take A Level English. Nothing else interested me and I went through various office jobs for 10 years before giving up work to raise a family. That’s when my passion for writing was really ignited.
  12. Where did you begin writing? Some people start off on Smashwords, Wattpad, Forums, Nanowrimo…
    I started writing stories at school to share with my friends. I even wrote my first novel at the age of 12.
  13. What would you stress the most to aspiring writers?
    Aspiring writers need to learn their craft as soon as possible to make the job easier for themselves. Places like creative writing classes are ideal. Also before they submit anywhere, pay for an edit, or at least a critique. It’s worth the money, they’ll help make the writing shine.
  14. Do you have a favorite spot to write?
    My favourite spot to write is the summer house in my garden, though living in the UK means it’s more of a summer spot. I’ll write anywhere I get the opportunity.
  15. One item that you cannot live without
    I couldn’t live without my laptop.
  16. And lastly, what do you wish for your readers to gain from “Visions of Zarua”
    I want my readers to have enjoyed the journey with my characters and come away satisfied with the conclusion. And of course I want them to have enjoyed the book enough that they’re looking forward to my next novel. That’s all I can hope for.

Continue reading Author Interview: Suzanne Rogerson

The Travelers by Chris Pavone

25731543

 

Genre: Spy-Thriller, Mystery, Suspense

Pages: 448

Published by Crown

Amazon

Goodreads


 

It’s 3:00am. Do you know where your husband is?

Meet Will Rhodes: travel writer, recently married, barely solvent, his idealism rapidly giving way to disillusionment and the worry that he’s living the wrong life. Then one night, on assignment for the award-winning Travelers magazine in the wine region of Argentina, a beautiful woman makes him an offer he can’t refuse. Soon Will’s bad choices—and dark secrets—take him across Europe, from a chateau in Bordeaux to a midnight raid on a Paris mansion, from a dive bar in Dublin to a mega-yacht in the Mediterranean and an isolated cabin perched on the rugged cliffs of Iceland. As he’s drawn further into a tangled web of international intrigue, it becomes clear that nothing about Will Rhodes was ever ordinary, that the network of deception ensnaring him is part of an immense and deadly conspiracy with terrifying global implications—and that the people closest to him may pose the greatest threat of all.

It’s 3:00am. Your husband has just become a spy.



Continue reading The Travelers by Chris Pavone

A Court of Thorn and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

16096824

 

Genre: Fantasy, New Adult, Action, Magical Realism

Pages: 416

Published by Bloosmbury Children’s

Amazon

Goodreads


When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it… or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!


fullcrownratingfullcrownratingfullcrownratinghalfcrownrating


Continue reading A Court of Thorn and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

That’s a wrap: March

This month was a bummer for me. I hardly read [for me,] at all. I found that I was in a major book slump and coupled with it being a hectic month as far as Birthday, Holiday and book events – oh not to mention tossing in some Kindergarten screening – OI! Crazy month!

 

  1. Hearts, Keys, and Puppetry by Neil Gaiman – ★★★★
  2. The Infidel Stain by M.J. Carter – ★★★★
  3. In the darkness that’s where I’ll know you by Luke Smitherd – ★★★☆☆
  4. The Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson – ★★★☆☆
  5. Windcatcher by A.J. Norfield – ★★★★
  6. The Last Days of Magic by Mark Tompkins – ★★★
  7. The Art of Not Breathing by Sarah Alexander – 

 

Here is to next month, which looks more promising so far. [April Fools! HA!] No, but really.. I feel as though I’m mentally able to submerge myself into books again and not feel so fried doing so.

How was your month? What did you read?

The Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson

 

10429092

 

Genre: Christian Fiction, Young Adult, Supernatural,

Pages: 423

Published by Greenwillow

Amazon

Goodreads


Once a century, one person is chosen for greatness.

Elisa is the chosen one.

But she is also the younger of two princesses, the one who has never done anything remarkable. She can’t see how she ever will.

Now, on her sixteenth birthday, she has become the secret wife of a handsome and worldly king—a king whose country is in turmoil. A king who needs the chosen one, not a failure of a princess.

And he’s not the only one who seeks her. Savage enemies seething with dark magic are hunting her. A daring, determined revolutionary thinks she could be his people’s savior. And he looks at her in a way that no man has ever looked at her before. Soon it is not just her life, but her very heart that is at stake.

Elisa could be everything to those who need her most. If the prophecy is fulfilled. If she finds the power deep within herself. If she doesn’t die young.

Most of the chosen do.



Continue reading The Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson

Book Haul: March #2

Well, I guess the Month truly isn’t over until the Mail Lady rings the doorbell… As I said in my previous post I was waiting for the arrival of a book shipment from a dear friend in Ohio. Well, I wasn’t expecting it until Saturday. Lo and Behold, today the doorbell rings and it is my books!

I had recently picked up a few Laurell K. Hamilton books at the book sales and I’ve been meaning to pick up this series because one of my book buddies was adamant that I read this series as well as the Kushiel’s Legacy series by Jacqueline Carey. Well, I read the Kushiel series!

My friend saw that I had recently picked up the two books and since she had a broad collection [20 books,] decided to send them my way instead of donate them. YAY FRIEND!

 

 

So, I guess this brings up my total for this month to around nearly 80 books. *insert sheepish look here*

 

Have you read any of these books, or want to? Comment below!