A Court of Thorn and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

16096824

 

Genre: Fantasy, New Adult, Action, Magical Realism

Pages: 416

Published by Bloosmbury Children’s

Amazon

Goodreads


When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it… or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!


fullcrownratingfullcrownratingfullcrownratinghalfcrownrating


“Everything I love has always had a tendency to be taken from me. I tell very few about the wings. Or the flying.”

I finished this book last night and chose to mull over my initial thoughts rather than blurt them out all at once because after the book I was still on a high and my thoughts weren’t clear. That being said…

Initially, I thought the book was spectacular with a few minor flaws and then after my daze subsided it dropped half a star for me. Instead of being a resounding 4 it became a 3.5. Why? Well, the writing quality for me wasn’t spectacular, it was just okay, while the overall world building was done well and the story was intriguing and kept me entirely drawn into it, I felt there were some areas that I could have easily skipped over [and admittedly did.] HOWEVER… I devoured the book and for that, it really does teeter between 3.5 – 4 stars.

This book is about Feyre, a 19 year old who once was from a family of wealth. She is the youngest out of three girls but because she was the most abled she became the provider for the family and was forced to become a hunter. In this world the Fae aren’t looked at kindly, they were once the overlords to humankind and used the mortals to create buildings, essentially used them as slaves [and some still do,] and the old gods have been long forgotten, everything magic is shunned, too.

Out on a hunt, Feyre spots a doe and then a wolf, an oversized wolf that she believes to be a fae and due to her prejudice she not only kills the doe, but also the wolf. After returning home it isn’t long until a High Fae comes barging through and claims Feyre, Tamlin is the Fae’s name and it turns out…he’s not just a High Fae, he is a very important, very beastly Fae.

In the end, Feyre has to pay with her life – she is to live on Tamlin’s lands for the rest of her days. This is where the story picks up – sort of. I had a bit of trouble with this section of the book only because I felt as if it wasn’t developing the story so much as treading the waters. BUT we do get to meet a snarky fae – Lucien – we do get to discover that there is…a curse [beauty and the beast anyone?]

I absolutely enjoyed the fact that… Feyre is a hero, she struggles with remaining strong and BEING strong. It has been required of her for so many years, she seems to always end up taking care of others. BUT BUT BUT…. I couldn’t stand her in the least. She is flat and unlikable, which I think is the point of her? Considering she says she’s prickly and what not…I just couldn’t find much to like about her, other than she refused to let herself be victimized, she would rise even in hardship…

Tamlin is likeable even in the beginning, at least in my opinion, there seems to be something odd with how he regards Feyre that makes you wonder. Not to mention his sidekick and friend, Lucien. Snarky, witty, and loyal.

“I love you,’ he whispered, and kissed my brow. ‘Thorns and all.”

Once we meet Rhysand and Amarantha, I was very intrigued by Rhysand and continued to enjoy him to the very end. Amarantha had promise, but as far as a villain went I felt as though her air time was short and rushed.

Rhysand was perhaps my favorite character in the entire book. Again. I did enjoy this book, I was just expecting more from it. I DO definitely recommend it though. :}


fullcrownratingfullcrownratingfullcrownratinghalfcrownrating


 

5 thoughts on “A Court of Thorn and Roses by Sarah J. Maas”

    1. I actually just bought the first book to her Throne of Glass series. That’s on hold until I get a little more caught up with my reading, but I really enjoyed her world building. So I look forward to it! [I also pre ordered A Court of Mist and Fury ]

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s