The Dark Days Club by Alison Goodman

15993203
London, April 1812. On the eve of eighteen-year-old Lady Helen Wrexhall’s presentation to the queen, one of her family’s housemaids disappears-and Helen is drawn into the shadows of Regency London. There, she meets Lord Carlston, one of the few who can stop the perpetrators: a cabal of demons infiltrating every level of society. Dare she ask for his help, when his reputation is almost as black as his lingering eyes? And will her intelligence and headstrong curiosity wind up leading them into a death trap?


Genres: Historical Fiction, Regency era, Supernatural, Young adult

Pages: 496

Series: Book 1 in the Lady Helen series

Published: January 26th, 2016 by Viking Books

Goodreads

Amazon


★★★★☆


Wow, what a trip! Fans of Jane Austen’s Pride & Prejudice and Cassandra Clare’s Immortal Instruments need to be on the look out for this book! Goodman executes a brilliant and new idea.

Helen Wrexhall is the daughter of the late Lady Catherine Wrexhall, a name that has been slandered with rumors and, in turn, has brought shame into the family. Since the passing of Lady Catherine, Helen has come into the possession of her Uncle and Aunt. This is during a time where propriety is everything and one misstep can have one falling from the graces of the public eye, so Helen must endure her Aunt’s frivolous behavior and her Uncle’s more than overbearing demeanor.

Enter in a dashing, handsome complication that comes in the form of Lord Carlston, a man who is seen as a social prior due to the mysterious death of his late wife and just so happens to be linked to Helen’s family in a distant manner.

Since this time period was very difficult for a woman to be taken seriously other than someone to produce children and what not, the strength of character is difficult to see when Helen simply agrees and lets others control her life. Let there be no question that she is actually a strong character, she takes everything quite eloquently, even as a new world is opened up to her and difficulties arise. She does so with grace. Even as a difficult choice is laid in her hands and she must truly decide, and take control of her life, Helen does just that. She makes her decision and, in the end, it left me wanting MORE from Goodman!

I have never read a piece from her before and now I’m regretting it, this book was lovely and though it didn’t end with a cliffhanger I am definitely hooked and will be interested in reading the second! Do yourself a favor…BUY IT, READ IT!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s